Y’all. I’m an Oklahoman.

Wanted to post this yesterday, but was SO wiped out from the day that I started writing it and then forgot to post! Ha!! Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

So today is the day. The sad, sad day. The day that I give up my Texas driver’s license. Go ahead, mourn with me.

The outing to the DMV went as you might expect. Long lines, even longer wait times, and people trying to talk to you when you CLEARLY want to keep to yourself.

So we all know the line from Veggie Tales, “God made you special, and He loves you very much!” I feel like God made me special to deal with things like the DMV, calling insurance companies, and long lines at airport security. For some reason, God wired me to be able to handle these situations WAY better than my husband and honestly anyone else I know. Well, those days might be over.

Because taking a baby, even my baby who was SO well-behaved, on these errands pushed me to the edge. Not to mention I had to pee THE ENTIRE TIME. The babe did great, and only screeched his pterodactyl noise once!

After waiting an hour my number was called up. The hubs told me that they didn’t take your photo for your license till you got to the tag agency. So I was totally thrown off when the guy was like, “Please stand in front of the blue screen and I’ll count to three…” I tried to quickly fluff my hair (ps- straightener broke that morning…) and not look surprised. The only thought I had running through my head was “You have no color on your lips!!” as I knew my mother would be saying if she was there. But there was just no time Mom!!!!!

*And Snap*

Ugh. I was so ticked. Not only did I not look “photo ready” I am the heaviest I’ve ever been (post baby), I just started losing the baby weight, and I am planning on choppin’ my hair off in like a week. So, I’m hoping that in the next few months I’ll look nothing like that picture.

I then made my way to the tag agency at 51st and Lewis. HUGE MISTAKE. It took me an hour to get there because of construction. If I had to sum up Tulsa in one photo, it would be this:

And no, I wasn't driving when I took this picture. I was stopped. For like 3 minutes. And then moved 10 feet. And sat for another three minutes.
And no, I wasn’t driving when I took this picture. I was stopped. For like 3 minutes. And then moved 10 feet. And sat for another three minutes.

Again, I still had to pee this whole time. And I’m not about to pull into a QT and leave my now sleeping baby in the car for 2.5 minutes because I’m terrified of this happening to me.

So, I finally get to the tag agency, pay, get the paper work, and the guy says, “Ok, just head on over to this station and I’ll take your picture.” WHAT!!! A SECOND CHANCE!!! THANK YOU!!! I was so relieved that I went over, sat in the chair and gave them my best smile.

*And Snap*

And then I realized I didn’t fluff my hair, put on lip gloss, or anything.

And apparently I was still rather frustrated from my drive over.

He handed me my card, and lo and behold… There I was. A flat haired, pale lipped, and RED FACED Brittney. Yes. To me, I look rather inebriated. And will until June of 2018. Awesome.

So, I said thank you, picked up my babe and my new red-faced DL, and headed home.

This is how we both felt by the end of the day… three hours after we started out.

photo(6)

So, we spend the rest of the afternoon snuggling and making funny faces in Mommy’s bed šŸ™‚

photo 1(2)

photo 3

photo 2

So all in all, if I’m going to end the day snuggling with my favorite little man, today was a good day : )

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Y’all. I’m an Oklahoman.

  1. Cracking up at the lips comment! ALWAYS HAVE COLOR!! šŸ™‚ love the post-love that you are documenting life and sharing it! šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

