Brittney’s Soul Gets A (Much Needed) Workout

I woke up today and people, my soul is burning. But in a good way, like that awesome, deep, flaming burn after a workout feeling. Let me explain.

I got to spend almost the whole day with one of my BEST friends from college, Miss Alison. We met our freshman year at TU through a campus organization. Almost every one of my great college memories include her. 🙂

After Phil and I got married spring break of my senior year, Alison and I spent a few months together before she set off across the ocean to work and live in India. Four years later… Phil and I are back in Tulsa and Alison is still on the other side of the world! She came home for a short trip and I was SO THRILLED to get to spend time with her for a whole day!!!

I was going through our “Facebook Friendship” and couldn’t resist sharing these pics 🙂

1929102_1008951097053_8405_n
Our first time in Colorado together- Summer 2007
My favorite person to watch TU football games with
Diehard TU football fans
And let's not forget Big Mamaz!!! Senior Year Flag Football Champs!!
And let’s not forget Big Mamaz!!! Senior Year Flag Football Champs!!
One of my top 5 favorite pics from college. I love us :)
One of my top 5 favorite pics from college. I love us 🙂
Graduation- 2010
Graduation- 2010

29986_547538062435_231168_nIt was so wonderful to spend the day together, almost like it was four years ago… but ya know, just add in a husband and baby and talk about life on the other side of the world!!  We hit up or usual spots… The Brook, Sonic’s Happy Hour… Looking back we should have made a Hobby Lobby run for the heck of it 🙂

The first time she left the US... Drove to her house just to hug her before she left for the airport... cried the WHOLE way home.
The first time she left the US… Drove to her house just to hug her before she left for the airport. I cried the WHOLE way home!
208207_580960683235_8358724_n
Her first vacay back to America! I got her flight info wrong, left in the middle of a workout, and drove to meet her in the parking lot of the airport just to hug her!!
And this time last year, she was able to come to Denton and stay for a night! I was so prego, but it was so awesome for her to get to feel Lu kick and squirm.
And this time last year, she was able to come to Denton and stay for a night! I was so prego, but it was so awesome for her to get to feel Lu kick and squirm.

After lunch, we came back to the house to put Lu down for a nap and talked for a couple hours. Uninterrupted, no pressure, no awkwardness… AHHH!!! I haven’t had a conversation like that with a non family member in forever! I told Phil the other day that I feel like I’m out of practice when it comes to extended conversations. I actually get worn out, forget what questions to ask, and feel like I’m constantly distracted… Oh wait. That’s being a mom.

photo 4(10)
Oh, and I forgot to mention, Luke LOVED LOVED LOVED Alison!!!! Like there was ever any doubt.

My heart hasn’t been at ease like this in months. I truly forgot how much I missed her. I miss talking about our love for the Cowboys, superhero movies, country music, boys, work, ministry, weddings, friends… I’ve missed her humor, her wise counsel, and her love for people. I miss her “mom moments” which was perfectly displayed as she pulled out a Tide-to-Go Pen on cue as Phil spilled salsa on his sleeve at dinner. I miss watching TV shows and looking up everything on IMDB. Honestly, I miss watching TV shows with someone who knows ANYTHING about Hollywood/celebs/fashion/etc. (Sorry babe, but we both know you don’t care at all…)

While I miss Alison now more than ever, I’m so incredibly proud of what all she is doing. Moving halfway across the world is an incredible and scary thing to do in your 20s and I’m so inspired by her courage and conviction. I love hearing about her life and the funny differences between India and the US, but also about the many similarities all people share. If/When she ever decides to come home for good, back to Oklahoma or anywhere in the USA, I’ll be there. At the airport, so ready to see her again 🙂

And Alison, I’ll be there for when you come home for vacations too 🙂 Just wanted to clear that up!

On the way to take The Hubs to work this morning, he asked me if I was going to hang out with anyone tonight while he had “guy night”. I said, “No way babe. My heart and soul are exhausted. They haven’t had that big of a workout in forever. I’m going to need a break from yesterday… ”

Thanks for the exercise Alison!

One thought on “Brittney’s Soul Gets A (Much Needed) Workout

  1. Britt, this did my heart good! My two bestest girlfriends (Pat and your aunt Bonnie) have gone home to be with the Lord, and the memories of our times shared are so precious to me. So glad you put such high value on the God Gifts of your friends!
    Love you so much, Gramma

    Like

Leave a Reply

