The Dining Room Table

We have a great 4 person kitchen table that was a hand me down given to us by some sweet friends in Denton. I think that I’ll always have this table somewhere in our house no matter how large our family gets! I love this table!

When we set up our dinning area, everything was just a little dark to me. I knew the table needed a facelift, so here we go….

photo(18)photo 1(25)photo 2(21)photo 4(16)photo 5(12)

So this project went so well. Completely according to plan! Woo hoo! Or so I thought.

People. Do. Not. Rush. A. Project.

I was so thrilled with how it turned out and was so excited to get this table into the house that I used super thick coats of shellack to seal it and didn’t allow enough time for it to dry. I gave it 8 hours. I should have given it at least 12 hours overnight…

So this happened. photo 1(26)All. Over. The. Table.

So what do I do? I call my Dad, duh. And now I have to sand down the finish and redo it. I’ll be more careful this time. However, I won’t have time to do this for quite a while, so I need a solution until I can fix it and paint the chairs to match.

Thank goodness for Target! I love me a cute table cloth! However I can’t STAND an uneven table cloth. Have you ever tried to straighten a circular table cloth on a smaller table? It’s impossible. No matter what you do, there is always a side that is longer than other. Every single time!! By the end of it I’m like, “Oh, I know it’s uneven. It’s called art.”

I’ve come up with a solution to make sure it looks great each time. I’m sure everyone knows this, but I just discovered it. I’m a slow learner…

photo 2(22)Fold in half… photo 3(22)Fold in half again….

photo 4(17)Make a tiny, tiny dot on the corner! Now you have a marker to make sure you’re “centered” every time!!!

photo 5(13)And BOOM. photo 3(23)While the facelift didn’t go as planned, it still looks beautiful to me! Woo hoo!!! Once the weather is cooler, it’ll be Round #2 for the table and chairs!!

One thought on “The Dining Room Table

Leave a Reply

