Happy New Year!!!!

October 2014. Seriously? That’s the last time I wrote blog post ummm… whoa.

Well, welcome back me!

It’s 10:30 pm. New Years Eve. Where am I? In my bed. Not quite how I wanted to spend the evening. I’ve been battling a cold that turned into an infection and I’m all kinds of a snotty, coughing, congested mess. So I’m in bed with a sprite, antibiotics, and Netflix. And my laptop.

My husband LOVES NYE. Like, LOVES it. If he had his way, we would be all fancified dressed up, out on the town, and attending one of those parties like at the end of When Harry Met Sally where everyone kisses at midnight and sings Auld Lang Syne. In our NYEs together, we haven’t made that happen yet. Life, am I right? #2016goals

They hubs did get to go to a NYE party this year. He’s worked so hard taking care of me, he needed a germ-free night off. He’s actually just on the other side of the fence at our friend Tim’s house (with all our other friends) at his annual NYE party. I’m so sad to be missing it. I actually just had the saddest, most depressing moment. I stood at our back door, gazing across the lawn into their living room (the whole room is floor to ceiling windows, I’m not a creeper!), and wishing I was at the cool kid party. Everyone is dancing, talking, eating, having a great time and I’m over here coughing up a lung trying not to pee my pants. (TMI? So sorry…. #postbabybod)

But you know what? This is just what a needed. A few moments alone to think about the past year, prepare for the new, and honestly…. just take a breather. I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to focus on and do differently in the next year.

This past year felt like survival. We tried a few churches that ended up not panning out. I started a direct sales business that I ended up quitting in November. I don’t think I painted a single thing. Phil hasn’t played music in almost a year. And we now have a two year old. So, to say we were stretched a little thin would be an understatement.

This year I want us to thrive. I want us to flourish and love our life. I want us to find our community and I want us to grow spiritually. I would love for us to be the people we once were. Before we moved to Tulsa.

So here’s my plan.

  1. Find a church
  2. Get off Facebook for at least a month.
  3. Do one spiritually renewing thing each month
  4. Go on one awesome date a month
  5. Revamp my studio space
  6. Finish one piece a month
  7. Try other mediums of art
  8. Focus on building friendships
  9. Love our neighbors

And then there’s the usual….

  1. Keep off the 20 pounds I lost  last year
  2. Head to the gym twice a week (hopefully to loose that additional 20…)
  3. Read more books

There you have it! My list for 2016. Nothing to crazy, but I’m ready to dive into this next year. I’m ready to not be so sad and blah about life in Tulsa. I’m ready to embrace it and to LOVE living here. Bring it on 2016. The Lucias are ready for you! 11239660_10100142945762605_1613820621247055945_o

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!!

  1. I’m so sorry you’re sick, but I’m so glad it gave you a chance to write and reflect (I need more of those times, too). I didn’t know you had quit! I’m sorry that you’re not on our team anymore, but I totally get making the intentional choice to do what’s best for you and your family (and hey, it also makes taking that month off Facebook that much easier)! Happy new year to you, Brittney. All the best to you!

    P.S. I am SO with Phil about NYE! I was just saying to Nich that I wish we had places to go where we could wear fance-pance gowns and suits!

    Like

Leave a Reply

